Smaller Default Larger

5 Georgian journalists are winners of EU Prize for Journalism 2014

Five Georgian journalists were awarded EU Prize for Journalism 2014 by The European Union for their professional standards and ethics.

Four awards were handed out in the following categories:

  • Best investigative or opinion article in printed or online media: to Ms. Sopho Aptsiauri for the article 'Labour for Survival' (;
  • Best TV/Radio report: to Ms. Nana Biganishvili for the TV Investigation 'Protecting Vake Park' (Studio Monitor);
  • Best social media profile, blog or blog post: to Mr. Lasha Bughadze with the blogpost 'Be Lysistratas' (Radio Liberty);
  • Most informative news agency or online newspaper: to the Kakheti Info Centre.  

All winners received the Crystal Globe Trophy and a monetary prize of GEL 3,500.

Within the framework of the EU Prize for Journalism 2014, the EU Monitoring Mission (EUMM) awarded the Special Prize for Peace Journalism, which recognises reporting promoting a peaceful solution on both sides of the conflict divide, acknowledging  journalists who promote  peace and social justice over violence, while addressing their audiences. The EUMM Special Prize for Peace Journalism of this year went to Mr. Goga Aptsiauri for the article 'Pain and Hope from Sarajevo' ( He won an attractive fellowship allowing him to participate in the Caucasus Programme at the headquarters of the Institute for War and Peace Reporting (IWPR) in London.

  • x-eu_journo-2
  • x-eu_journo-3
  • x-eu_journo-4
  • x-eu_journo-5
  • x-eu_journo-6
  • x-eu_journo

Simple Image Gallery Extended

photos by George Gogua / RFE/RL