Karen Tovmasyan

The agreement got the support not only from the majority's faction, but also all the opposition factions except one. The opposition forces during the debates in the parliament criticized the foreign policy of the government, which lead to the signing of the agreement and stated, that not signing the agreement now will be much difficult for Armenia. 

The head of the largest opposition faction of the Parliament Levon Zurabyan (Armenian National Congress) stated that joining the EEU Armenia is not loosing it's independence. He claimed hat EEU member states can leave the union at any moment. Zurabyan said the existence of the ruling party and Serj Sarkisian as athe President of Armenia is much dangerous for the independence of Armenia then Russia or EEU.

EEU member states are Russia, Belorus and Kazakhstan. Kirgizistan is also going to join the union.